top of page
  • jenniferbehnkepmhnp

Why healthy boundaries are important and how to set them


They say good boundaries make good neighbors. I say good personal boundaries build great interpersonal and professional relationships. Some people feel the need to please others, often without realizing that by saying “yes” to everything, they are also saying “no” to something else that might be equally important to them. This can have negative effects on both your personal life and your career.


Not being able to set healthy boundaries can be related to common issues like low self-esteem, needing approval from others, learned helplessness or the fear of being rejected or criticized.


Boundaries create trust and build healthy relationships. Even when some people don't like what you do, they will likely still respect you for standing up for what you believe in. Boundaries also generate safety in relationships. When your privacy is respected, you are more likely to feel heard, validated and appreciated. But most of all, you are not taken for granted by either your loved ones or your colleagues and supervisors.


Here are some resources to check out to aid you in your boundary setting and maintaining journey:


Articles:

  1. "10 Ways to Build and Maintain Healthy Boundaries" - PsychCentral Link: https://psychcentral.com/lib/10-way-to-build-and-maintain-healthy-boundaries

  2. "The Importance of Setting Boundaries for Your Mental Health" - Healthline Link: https://www.healthline.com/health/importance-of-setting-boundaries-for-your-mental-health

  3. "The Art of Setting Boundaries" - Harvard Business Review Link: https://hbr.org/2018/03/the-art-of-setting-boundaries

  4. "Why Setting Healthy Boundaries is Important for Your Well-being" - Mayo Clinic Link: https://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/adult-health/in-depth/art-20045206

  5. "How to Set Boundaries: 10 Tips for Assertiveness" - PsychCentral Link: https://psychcentral.com/lib/how-to-set-boundaries-10-tips-for-assertiveness

Podcasts:

  1. "The Importance of Boundaries" - The Life Coach School Podcast Link: https://thelifecoachschool.com/podcasts/264/

  2. "Setting Boundaries for Your Mental Health" - The Savvy Psychologist's Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Mental Health Podcast Link: https://www.quickanddirtytips.com/health-fitness/mental-health/setting-boundaries-for-your-mental-health

  3. "Why Boundaries Are Essential for a Healthy Life" - The Tony Robbins Podcast Link: https://www.tonyrobbins.com/podcasts/boundaries-essential-healthy-life/

  4. "The Power of Boundaries" - The One You Feed Podcast Link: https://www.oneyoufeed.net/the-power-of-boundaries/

  5. "How to Set Healthy Boundaries and Prioritize Self-Care" - Therapy Thoughts Podcast with Tiffany Roe Link: https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/therapy-thoughts-podcast-tiffany-roe-lcsw-cdp/id1454644498?i=1000515819325


67 views0 comments

Yorumlar


bottom of page